OSH Project Success

Hi all!

I’m a doctoral student, doing research on OSH development - particularly developing best practices in order to help OSH projects be more successful. In open source, defining success is not as clear cut as it is in industrial, proprietary product development, where they usually define success in terms of customer satisfaction, sales and profits. I’m reaching out because I’m interested in hearing your points of view as practitioners.

• What does project success mean to you?
  • What do you think are indicators of success for OSH projects? (e.g. community size…)

Your help would be really invaluable to my work and I’d be happy to share my findings with you as I progress :slight_smile:

Many thanks,
Rafaella Antoniou
University of Bath

4 Likes

Hi Rafaella -

While all the traditional motivators existing somewhere in the OScH community (profit, sales, customer satistfaction, etc.)… it’s worth noting what is unique. Here’s the unique things I’ve seen from lots of interactions over the years.