Extending OSH to Schools

Short Story:

I am an education professor at the University of Virginia. I am working with a consortium of education associations that are exploring ways to extend Open Science Hardware (OSH) to schools. We are seeking examples of open hardware that could be adapted for replication in school makerspaces.

Long Story:

The associations jointly publish a peer-reviewed journal, Contemporary Issues in Technology and Teacher Education (CITE Journal). We received a U.S. National Science Foundation POSE planning grant (NSF # 2229627) to develop methods of extending the review process to include open hardware as well as academic manuscripts.

1. Adapting Open-Hardware to Schools

Sumreen Asim, editor of the science section of the CITE Journal, would like to identify an example of open science hardware that could be adapted to teach a concept taught in schools. We would work with the developer of the OSH mechanism, instrument, or product to develop appropriate pedagogical supports and instructional materials for teachers. Any recommendations or suggestions from the GOSH community would be welcome.

1. Support for Extension of OSH to Schools

We are writing a follow-up NSF POSE Phase II proposal to develop a peer-reviewed library of open science hardware objects for schools. NSF requires “a letter of collaboration from a contributor (who is not directly related to the proposing team) to the proposed Open-Source Ecosystem.” The letter writer should clearly describe how they will contribute to the development of an Open-Source Ecosystem including the value proposition associated with the product.” (The open-source system in this case would be an Educational CAD Model Library for K-12 schools.)