Can machines with expired patents become open source hardware?

Does anyone have experience in working with old industrial machinery and making them into open source hardware plans? I am currently trying to build machines to process flax and hemp into yarn, and so far have gone down a route of building DIY tools from FOSH plans. However in my research I’m seeing that other flax farmers are buying up old equipment which is no longer manufactured and fixing it up themselves. I am wondering if it is possible to have the best of both worlds and buy old equipment and try to reverse engineer it make open source plans? If anyone has done this before I would love to hear from you!

1 Like

I am not a lawyer, but the way I understand it, there are multiple types of IP to be aware of:

Patent:- Describes how the thing works. Even if you invent the same thing independently you can infringe (these are the biggest problem to innovation). Expires after about 20 years, I think this depends on where it is registered

Copyright:- Controls how you copy a specific copyable work (drawing, text, code etc). Takes aaaages to expire

Trademark:- This is the brand name and does not expire.

In the situation above:

• The patent is expired so you are fine there.
  • The copyright will not have expired. So if you find the original manufacturing drawings and shared them that would be a violation. However, if you measure the physical part and make your own drawing then this should not violate copyright.
  • Trademark probably still exists. So when you reverse engineer it. Don’t put the old logo on it! Or try to sell anything as though it was made by the original manufacturer

So I think what you want to do should be fine.

4 Likes