Visa Support Group

Hi,

OK, I am just putting this thread out there so folks can have a place to land if they get confusered or stymied over the visa process. I have never been to Asia, so I’m new to all of this. I am located in NYC, and I will be diving in the deep end on Monday, the 30th of July. I will update this thread as I go. Fun Stuff!

For people in the U.S. who don’t live in one of the embassy cities, I just went through the process, but not living near one of the embassies, I used this service: http://uschinavisa.com/. I sent in the paperwork on Monday last week and got mine back in two weeks.

we just realised that the simple tourist visa is good for 3months from the date you receive it, so maybe better wait a few weeks??

50 days before the trip, about mid august, was one recommendation…

Looked into that usChinaVisa.com and they seem pretty legit. for US passport and tourist visa They need:
Passport (and copy of picture page)
Round Trip Ticket
Hotel reservation
and then of course about $200 for consulate and service fees.

Hey, for me all this is also new… I asked a Swiss travel agency in Geneva (Tian-Tan, has been recommended to me) and they charge 165 CHF (ca. 145 EUR) for their Chinese VISA service. Is that within normal ranges? (minus some Swiss excess :). Has anyone experience with cheaper online services within Europe?

From what I understood, we cannot go with the special Visa on Arrival (available only at the Hong Kong - Shenzhen border) because it is only valid for 5 days which is too short. We would need to exit and re-enter I believe (if that is even allowed on the same day). Also, when taking the ferry directly from Hong Kong airport to Shenzhen/China mainland as suggested in the FAQ, this special Visa on arrival for Shenzhen might not be available via the ferry terminal (couldn’t find a definite answer on this one) .