Map / Cadastre / List of Open science/hardware initiatives in Chile/LATAM

Hi!
I am new to the GOSH community, @paz is guilty of bringing me here.
I am working on a map of “science and innovation” in water resources in Chile for a goverment agency, and I am interested in any open science - citizen science initiatives on the topic that could be highlighted as part of this map.
Thank you!

2 Likes

I am currently working with Aasura to create the “Map of african digital/physical third-places (makerspace, hackerspace, fablab ) and open Science initiatives”. We will do it using data visualisation with Open Knowledge Map. And we will release it during the Africa Open Science & Hardware summit.. Let me invite Asura there

1 Like

Hi Maria,

I’m equally new to the GOSH community and the forum here! As Thomas mentioned I am (hopefully) going to AfricaOSH in April. I am part of the Open Knowledge Maps team and while we’re trying to map academic texts we’ve had the chance to try our engine on various kinds of data (we mapped reports of infectious diseases and recently also created a map of the participants of a conference based on their short bios)

I would be curious to hear more about your map, especially because you specifically called it a map (often people refer to lists, collections, databases, etc) and I really like this notion.

Best,
Asura

2 Likes

I hate to reference my own work, but take a look at this map --> http://u.osmfr.org/m/187670/

It contains info on open science projects in Argentina and Open Hardware projects in Latin America (check the layers). It’s still in progress but may be useful!

Feel free to ask me if you need any further info!

3 Likes

Whaaaaaat such a cool map! Is it possible to make it bigger and more international and stuff?

2 Likes

Thanks @gbathree :smiley:

Researchers at CENIT -the centre I work at- completed all the open science layers for Argentina. I added the open hw layer with cases from Latin America (part of my phd).