Help needed with developing an assistive device for elderly and people living with upper extremity mobility and strength limitations

Greetings fellow GOSHers,

My name is Gideon, and I was introduced to GOSH last year through AfricaOSH during my participation in the OpenFlexure Microscope workshop in Ghana. I am currently a student at Kwame Nkrumah University of Science & Technology in Kumasi, pursuing a degree in Biomedical Engineering.

I am reaching out to fellow GOSH members for assistance with my final project.

A little background on my project. The aging population in Ghana and Africa, coupled with the prevalence of conditions like ALS, Parkinson’s disease, and others affecting independent functioning among the elderly and people suffering from nervous system disorders, highlights the crucial need for assistive devices. The prolonged time taken to perform essential activities of daily living, particularly eating, underscores the necessity for designing an automated feeding system for the elderly and individuals with nervous system disorders.

Additionally, the significant emigration of Ghanaian nurses, to America and Europe, who serve as primary caregivers for the elderly and people suffering from nervous system disorders, presents a substantial threat to their quality of life and independence. Hence, the urgency for developing assistive devices.

I aim to create a portable device capable of scooping food from a bowl and transporting it to the user’s mouth without requiring physical contact with either the bowl or the device. I would greatly appreciate assistance on integrating microcontrollers into the hardware to achieve the intended functionality of the device. Guidance on suitable software for designing a model for the project would be invaluable as well.

Your suggestions and contributions to this endeavor are highly appreciated. Thank you.

Best regards, Gideon

2 Likes

Hi Gideon