Candidate Statement: Laura Olalde

This thread is for the candidate statement of 2021 GOSH Community Council Election candidate Laura Olalde (@laola). Laura, you can reply to this post with your candidate statement. I have included the candidate statement template below for your reference:

2021 GOSH Community Council Election Candidate Statement Template

Candidate Name:

Please provide a short biography, and describe some of your participation and contributions in the GOSH community (3-5 sentences):

Please provide a position statement (5-7 sentences), indicating why you are running for Community Council, your priorities for the community, and what you hope to achieve:

Candidate statements do not have to be in English. For more information on the Candidate Statement’s category, please read the about post pinned to this category.

Candidate Name: Laura Olalde

BIO

My name is Laura Olalde, my pronouns she/her and I am an artist, educator and researcher working across disciplines.
In my hybrid sci- art practices I conducted research on iridiscent, luminiscent and coloured micro organisms and biomaterials and I faced repeatedly the challenge of building my own hardware devices to develop the required processes during my experiences in an autonomous and independent way.
That was the milestone that pushed me to the Open Hardware Community, attending my first GOSH gathering in Santiago de Chile, where I helped with the photography documentation and later on in 2018 in Shenzhen, as the documentation team coordinator.
During 2018 and 2019 I alternated my stays between Argentina and The Netherlands, being currently part of the Argentinian Scientists Network in The Netherlands.