Are there nitrate/nitrite sensors for soil?

Hi GOSH Community,
I am an absolute layman in Biology and Biochemistry, but was looking for some “real-time” nitrate/nitrite sensors some colleagues of me and I could use in soil (!) via microcontroller. It seems to be a hot topic in agriculture for quiet some time now, but the devices I’ve found are either enormous and/or really expensive. Are there any buying options or Open Hardware attempts for something like that so far?

Thanksalot for any answers!

Best
Paul

1 Like

Hi Paul,

I’ve been involved with http://citizensensor.info/ an OSHW nitrate measuring system for soil. The web page is in German, but the github repro is English as well (at least most of it): https://github.com/CitizenSensor/CitizenSensor

CitizenSensor is NOT a real time system. We have evaluated the possibility to build one, but found that it is very hard to do, at least if you want results comparable with official measurement methods. These involve taking several samples, mixing them, mechanically break them down, sieving, filtering, and preparing an aqueous solution.

We have come up with a simplified DIY solution for this procedure:
Usage_SoilPreparation
Usage_AqueousSolution

Not sure if this helps you, but I’m happy to answer more questions about our project if there is interest.

Best regards,
Andreas

2 Likes

Hi all
Sometime ago we played with Hach NitraVer5 and a colorimeter adapted from the one of IO Rodeo. We did it with soil too followig Hach manual making an aqueous solution and filtering. This kit is not so friendly because uses Cadmium reduction method… but there is an enzimatic reaction and also just another open colorimeter @jpearce

I really like it! Did you build the probe/electrode or is a commercial one?
Saludos

1 Like

We use a commercial nitrate electrode.